Information on the Presidential Proclamation on U.S. Travel Restrictions


As a result of the amendment to the January 31, 2020, presidential proclamation, the United States government imposed the following additional entry requirements that take effect March 13, 2020, after 11:59 p.m. ET.

Presidential proclamation:

  • Any U.S. citizen or lawful U.S. permanent resident returning to the United States who has traveled to one of the Schengen Area countries within the previous 14 days must enter the United States through an approved airport. Contact your airline carrier if necessary, to rebook your flight to arrive at one of those approved airports.
  • Visit the CDC website for information on quarantine requirements for travelers entering the U.S. that have been in the Schengen Area within 14 days prior to entry:
  • Foreign nationals who have traveled to one of the Schengen Area countries within the last 14 days will be denied permission to travel to the United States.

Exceptions for specific travelers are detailed in the Presidential proclamation: 

These entry requirements are in addition to those imposed by the presidential proclamation on March 2 and January 31, which restricted entry to the U.S. from Iran and mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) respectively.  

Important information for you and your travelers

When do these orders go into effect?

These orders apply to all flights departing for the United States after 11:59 p.m. ET on March 13. It does not apply to flights that depart prior to 11:59 p.m. ET on March 13.

Which countries are part of the Schengen Area?

Twenty-six countries are part of the Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The United Kingdom and Ireland are not part of the Schengen Area.

What airports are approved entry points for customers entering the United States if the customer has visited a country within the Schengen Area, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the last 14 days?

·       Atlanta: Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)

·       Dallas-Fort Worth: Dallas Fort Worth International Airport (DFW)

·       Detroit: Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW)

·       Newark, New Jersey: Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)

·       Honolulu: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL)

·       New York City: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)

·       Los Angeles: Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)

·       Chicago: Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD)

·       Seattle: Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA)

·       San Francisco: San Francisco International Airport (SFO)

·       Washington, D.C.: Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD)

Should customers arrive at international airports early?

Customers departing for the United States should plan to arrive at the airport three hours early as the additional screening will lengthen the check-in process.